SMALL PRAYER SPACES FOR WORKING JEMAAH
Zakat Financial Assistance
Full-time Religious Education (Madrasah)
General Information on Madrasah
Madrasah Curriculum Development
Contribute to Madrasah
Mosque Building & Mendaki Fund
Religious Education Classes & Programmes
Lasting Power of Attorney
Health & Science
Hajj & Umrah
Eating & Drinking
Types of Zakat
SMALL PRAYER SPACES FOR WORKING JEMAAH
All of these words
This exact phrase
Any of these words
Without these words
Whole of Government
Is milk kefir halal?
Kefir Milk is produced by fermenting Kefir Grains (which is a combination of lactic acid bacteria and yeasts) with Milk, the fermentation process is usually 12 to 72 hours long, during which the yeast found in Kefir Grains breaks down the lactose found in Milk into alcohol and carbon dioxide.
Depending on the fermentation process the amount of alcohol produced may range from 0.2% to a maximum of 3%. The amount alcohol may increase even more if the Milk is fermented for longer periods of time.
As factually proven that alcohol is a natural bi-product of anything that goes through the process of fermentation i.e. cakes, soya sauce etc, the Fatwa Committee of Singapore opines in a fatwa issued in 2008 that the amount of alcohol in the end product should not exceed 0.1%.
Are animals that live both on land and water Halal or Haram?
The only animals that survive comfortably on both worlds, land and water, are those termed as amphibians. There are only three types of amphibians: frogs/toads, ceacillians, and salamanders. These animals, according to the Syafii Mazhab, are Haram.
Some may confuse crabs as animals that live on two habitats. however, this is a wrong assumption as crabs are considered as marine animals and all marine animals are Halal.
In relation to this, we quote the Hadith narrated by Abu Hurayra about a man who came to the Messenger of Allah, and said: Messenger of Allah! We travel by sea and we do not carry fres water with us so if we perform wudhu with it we go thirsty. Can we perform wudhu with sea water? The Messenger of Allah replied, its water is pure, and its dead creatures are halal.
Can cakes that contain non-intoxicating alcohol be consumed?
The prohibition of alcohol consumption not only arose because it is intoxicating, it is also najis. This is evident among all four schools of thought, namely Hanafi, Maliki, Syafi’ and Hanbali. Allah s.w.t has mentioned in Sura Al-Ma’idah verse 90 which means: “O you who believe! Intoxicants (all kinds of alcoholic drinks), gambling, Al¬-Ansâb, and Al¬-Azlam (arrows for seeking luck or decision) are an abomination of Shaitan's (Satan) handiwork. So avoid (strictly all) that (abomination) in order that you may be successful.”
Thus, if a food is tainted with even a drop of alcohol, the food is considered as najis, although it will not be to the level of intoxication.
Muslims cannot consume najis, or najis tainted foods. Thus, we cannot consume cakes and confectioneries in which alcohol is one of its contents.
Is it permissible to comsume plants that use pig waste as fertilizer?
As far as the Shariah is concern, It is permissible in Islam to consume such vegetables/fruits etc. The reasoning behind this is that, even though these fertilizers was from a non-halal products, be it the from pig waste or from any animal waste, all animal waste are considered najis. There's no difference from the waste of a particular animal to that of the other. When such fertilizers are used, the plants only extracts nutrients from the soil. Hence no impurities whatsoever were being transferred to the plants, hence making it halal and safe for human consumption.
Is apple cider vinegar halal?
Apple cider vinegar in general are Halal, however do ensure that there are no other alcoholic ingredients such as wine or spirit vinegar being added to the product. Do look through the ingredients list and ensure they do not contain anything haram or doubtful.
What is the ruling of consuming ‘Halal Non-Alcoholic Beverages’?
The ruling of consuming “Halal Non-Alcoholic Beverages” which are more commonly known as Halal Beer or Halal Wine. These beverages claim to have very low (0.5%) to zero alcohol content. The Fatwa Committee has issued a fatwa stating that “Halal Non-Alcoholic Beverages” which claim to have very low to zero alcohol content is Haram. This is due to the fact that the preparation process for these beverages is similar to the production of Khamr.
Can a Muslim go Vegan?
There is no objection for a muslim to be a vegetarian by choice but not by faith. Meaning, it is permissible to be a vegetarian provided she/he should not think that any Halal non-vegetarian products is Haram.
If you are unable to find an answer to your query, please submit the
form to let us know how we can help you.