Aside from that, MUIS also adopts a tripartite Halal family approach, comprising of; MUIS as the regulator; halal-certified companies as the bearer of Halal System Integrity; and the Public as our eyes and ears.
MUIS view the above seriously, and certified companies are required to comply in order to maintain halal assurance to our Muslim community.
Even though the products contain low alcohol
content (less than 0.5%) and/or have zero alcohol content and/or have its alcohol
removed, the process of manufacturing the products is similar to the manufacturing
of alcohol (khamr1). Thus,
it is Haram even though the small amount of alcohol in the products does not
individual to be intoxicated.
products are being marketed in a manner that is similar to alcoholic beverages.
Islam forbids an event that has resemblance or events that can lead to Haram
activities, even though, in its’ natural state, is permissible. This is aligned
with a principle in the Sharia’ known as sad
Thus, products that
meet the first or second criteria or meet both criteria are considered
non-halal for Muslims consumption.
1 kahmr – An intoxicating drink containing ethanol &
other components such as methanol, acetaldehyde and ethyl acetate which is
produced by fermentation of carbohydrates or drinks containing ethanol and/or
methanol as ingredient.
2 Sadd al-dhara’i‘means,
literally, "blocking the means", i.e. to undesirable ends, in other
words, forbidding what is likely to lead to the haram. The basis of this
principle is contained in the Qur'an where Allah says: "Do not swear at
those who call on other gods than Allah, so that they will then swear at Allah
in enmity, without any knowledge. …." (Q.6:108). Allah has thus made it haram to swear at the gods of others, to
avoid them cursing back at Allah. Another example usually highlighted by our
past scholars like Imam An-Nawawi, is the issue of accepting and giving gifts
for officials. Even though the act of giving a gift itself in essence is
virtuous, hence permissible, scholars clearly discouraged those holding on to
official posts to accept gifts from the public, as it could be perceived as a
bribe. Please refer to: al-Asyqar,Sulayman ‘Abdullah, al-Wadih fi Usul
al-Fiqh, (Amman: Dar al-Salam, 2001) 159.
establishments which do not have Muis Halal Certification are not bound by Muis
Halal certification requirements.
As Muis Halal certified
establishments are bound by Muis Halal Certification Conditions they are
required to display a valid Muis Halal certificate within their premises. You
may refer to the list of Muis Halal certified establishments at http://www.halal.sg/Consumer/general.html1.
note that the information provided in the website is subjected to changes as
establishments might not apply for Muis Halal certification renewal and/or its’
inability to meet Muis Halal Certification Conditions. Muis updates the website
periodically based on the listing of certificate holders at the time of update. In addition, Muis strongly advises the public to look out for the valid Halal
certificate on display within its premises
The “Halal Non-Alcoholic Beverages (wine, beer, spirits)” are Halal certified by a certifying
body in other countries. These certifying bodies are guided by their own interpretations
of the Islamic law or halal committees in their own countries.
certification standards are guided by the Muis Fatwa Committee which comprises the
Mufti of Singapore, local asatizahs and scholars. Muis Halal certification does not certify as
halal any product that contains any amount of alcohol derived from the
alcoholic industry and/or products marketed as alcohol-removed beverages and/or
any related products of similar nature or branding.
In addition, all Muis
Halal certified establishments are not allowed to serve any non-alcoholic beverages
or any related products of similar nature within their Halal certified premises.
Pig Liver mislabeled as "Halal" at Li Li Cheng Supermarket (#fakenews on 02 October 2018)
On 02 October 2018, Muis received a message relating to a picture circulating on social media; picture of Pig Liver mislabeled as "Halal" was spotted at Li Li Cheng Supermarket, located at 273C Punggol Place.
Immediately, Muis rushed to the supermarket, but did not find any "Pig Liver" labelled as "Halal". Our investigations reveal that the product is Halal-certified chicken fillet from Lee Say Poultry. However, the staff who did the price labels, printed "Pig Liver" instead of "Halal Chicken Fillet". The concerned staff has been counselled and warned to be more diligent in future.
For any feedbacks relating to Halal, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org or call us at 6359 1199.
Yes, you may as long as the take-away container is empty and clean.
Muis Halal Certification Conditions do not prevent certificate holders from acceding to customers' request for using own containers for take-aways as long as the containers are empty and clean.