Zakat Financial Assistance
Full-time Religious Education (Madrasah)
General Information on Madrasah
Madrasah Curriculum Development
Contribute to Madrasah
Mosque Building & Mendaki Fund
Religious Education Classes & Programmes
Lasting Power of Attorney
Health & Science
Hajj & Umrah
Eating & Drinking
Types of Zakat
All of these words
This exact phrase
Any of these words
Without these words
Whole of Government
What is Halal food?
Halal' is an Arabic word which means lawful or permissible. Any food or drink which falls under this category is permitted for Muslim consumption. Examples of Halal food include vegetables, spices and meat deriving from animals slaughtered in accordance with the Islamic Law. You may wish to visit our website www.halal.sg for more information.
What is the difference between Halal and Halal-certified food?
Halal' is an Arabic word which means lawful or permissible. Any food or drink which falls under this category is permitted for Muslim consumption. Examples of Halal food include vegetables, spices and meat deriving from animals slaughtered in accordance with the Islamic Law. Halal-certified means that the company has gone through a stringent process of desktop and site audits to ensure that they are indeed providing halal food. If a company is not halal-certified, it does not mean that they are also not halal. However, we would advise consumers to look out for the halal certificate for greater assurance, especially if the company is dealing with high risk items involving meat, poultry or their derivatives.
What is 'Halal-certified product'?
'Halal-certified' refers to products which have been endorsed as Halal by a credible Islamic body (third-party certification).
What is Halal certification?
'Halal certification' is an award of endorsement given by a credible Islamic body to attest that a product/service is suitable for Muslim consumption/use.
Is outside food not allowed into Halal-certified eating establishment?
Outside food is generally not allowed into any eating establishment, including the Halal-certified ones. However, this is more of a company's policy rather than a MUIS halal requirement. Baby food and food for the aged are of course exceptions to this case. We also provide guidelines to the certified companies to ensure that the halal integrity is not compromised.
Are stalls, which do not possess the Muis Halal certificate, allowed to sell Halal food?
In general, any stall can sell Halal food. However, if owners of the stalls want to claim, through verbal or written means, that they sell Halal food, they must obtain Halal certification and/or prior permission from Muis.
Does a Muslim-owned eating establishment require Halal certification from Muis?
In general, Halal certification is voluntary in Singapore. Owners of eating establishments, Muslims and non-Muslims alike, are advised to obtain Muis Halal certification as this provides an independent testimony and assurance that the food they serve are Halal. However, we do not penalise Muslim-owned companies should they make halal claims to their operations as it is their religious responsibility to ensure so.
What is Muis' stand on guide dogs at Halal-certified premises?
Guide dogs are the guiding eyes for people who cannot see. They are carefully bred, raised and trained for the purpose of providing a safe means of mobility for people who are visually impaired.
We provide a basic guideline for halal-certified companies should they choose to allow guide dogs in their premises:
Provide a designated area for customers with guide dogs;
Ensure that customers with guide dogs are seated at a location that will be safe and comfortable for them as well as other customers;
Ensure that the guide dog is harnessed by the owner and kept at his side at all times;
If the dog needs to be fed at the designated area, disposable wares shall be used to prevent any cross mixing with cutleries used for the preparation and serving of Halal food
The designated place shall be kept clean and hygienic at all times.
Is it against the law to use the Muis Halal certification mark without its approval?
According to Section 88A(5) of the Administration of Muslim Law Act, any person who uses the Muis Halal certification mark without its approval shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $10,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or both.
Is it against the law to issue a Halal certificate in Singapore without Muis' approval?
According to Section 88A(5) of the Administration of Muslim Law Act, any person who issues a Halal certificate in relation to any product, service or activity without Muis' approval shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $10,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or both.
A photocopied Halal certificate was observed to be displayed at a food stall/restaurant. Can this practice be accepted?
Displaying a photocopied Halal certificate is not permitted by Muis, even for Halal Certified premises. All Halal Certified premises are required to display the original copy of the certificate issued. If a copy of the Halal Certificate is required, a written request for certified true copies can be made from Muis' Halal Certification Strategic Unit Office. Should you come across such incident, do report it to our office. It would also be good if proof can be provided.
Why must Muslims consume Halal food?
It is a religious dietary requirement for Muslims to consume Halal food.
Can Muslims consume food that is not Halal-certified?
The consumption of food is an individual responsibility. Muslims can opt for food that is not endorsed as Halal by any Islamic body as long as they are confident and can ensure that the food has been prepared according to the Islamic Law.
Can Muslims consume food prepared by non-Muslims?
It is a religious obligation for all Muslims to consume only food that is Halal. Muslims can consume food that is prepared and/or sold by non-Muslims as long as the ingredients and processes are Halal.
Is fresh vegetable, which comes into direct contact with pork, still considered as Halal?
Fresh vegetable in its natural form is Halal. However, when it comes into direct contact with pork, the vegetable becomes non-Halal.
If you are unable to find an answer to your query, please submit the
form to let us know how we can help you.